Easy Pumpkin Swirl Loaf

Posted on

This is by far my favourite pumpkin recipe! 

Easy and Delicious Pumpkin Swirl

This pumpkin loaf, similar to a jelly roll, is my most requested recipe.  Every fall I get calls from each school/office I have worked in previously with people requesting that my pumpkin swirl make a guest appearance.  It is so tasty that I can’t really tell you how long it will last as leftovers are snapped up very quickly in our household.  Since I don’t care for pumpkin pie, this is a Thanksgiving tradition in our home.

Ingredients:

Loaf:

3 eggs

1 cup sugar

2/3 cup pumpkin

¾ cup Bisquik baking mix

2 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp. nutmeg

Filling:

2 pkg. of plain cream cheese, softened

1 cup icing sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Additional ingredient:  1 cup crushed walnuts

Using a mixer, combine the loaf ingredients together and blend until smooth.  Pour into a jelly roll pan that has been greased, floured, and lined with waxed paper.  Sprinkle on the walnuts.  Place pan in a 375 degree F. oven and bake for about 13-15 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.  Allow the loaf to cool partially on a rack.  I find the loaf rolls up and retains its shape better if it’s still a bit warm but obviously you need it to be cool enough to handle and so that it won’t melt the cream cheese filling!  Sprinkle a clean teatowel with icing sugar and turn out the loaf onto it.  Use the towel to help gently roll up the loaf jelly roll fashion.  Leave this loaf rolled up to finish cooling.  With a mixer, combine the filling ingredients and blend until smooth.  Gently (partly) unroll the pumpkin loaf removing the waxed paper as you do.  Spread with the cream cheese filling and roll the loaf back up again.  If you are like me, your loaf will have some cracks and imperfections but it will still be delicious!!!  Note: In my online travels, I found variations of this recipe in which they used either 2/3 cup of banana or 2/3 cup of applesauce in place of the pumpkin with very good results.  I personally have not tried those versions.  Yet.

Want more information about pumpkins and more great pumpkin recipes? Head on over to my other blog:  http://bit.ly/3Q9Bn

2 responses »

  1. yum! will definitely try this – with the walnuts!

    Reply
  2. Good evening, Happy late Hallowen(: !!

    Reply

Leave a comment