RSS Feed

Pizza Potatoes

Posted on

Did you know that this is National Pizza Week?  Now, I figure most pizza recipes are pretty much following the same template.  You make the crust whether thick, thin, or deep dish and then add your chosen toppings.  There are so many variations out there depending on your preferences (and in my family, we each like VERY different toppings on ours beginning with little or no sauce on mine, extra sauce on my daughter’s, and no cheese on my boyfriend’s!).  So here I offer you a different sort of pizza recipe.  It’s one my mom used to make for us when I was growing up and it’s a favourite of mine.  Don’t let it deter you because it’s made using instant scalloped potatoes.  It’s “dressed up” enough that I find it doesn’t taste like instant.  In addition, I would think it would be very easy to make your own homemade scalloped potatoes and add these additional ingredients to it and come up with very tasty results too. 

Ingredients:

1 pkg. of instant scalloped potatoes

1 can tomatoes (16 oz.) or 1 can tomato sauce (I can’t eat actual tomatoes so I use the sauce)

1 1/2 cups water

1/4 to 1/2 tsp. oregano (I like to add some basil to this too!)

4 oz. pepperoni slices or 1/2 lb. ground beef that has been browned and drained or 1/2 lb. bulk pork sausage that has been browned and drained (I prefer it with the pepperoni but that’s just personal taste –

4 oz. shredded mozzarella cheese

Place the potato slices and the packet of seasoned sauce from the scalloped potato mix in an ungreased casserole dish.  Heat the tomatoes/tomato sauce, water, and spices to boiling and stir this into the potato mixture.  Place the pepperoni or other meat on top and top with cheese.  Bake uncovered for 30-35 minutes at 400 degrees F.  Makes about 4 servings.

Leave a Reply

