RSS Feed

Fourth of July Recipes: Spaetzle

Posted on

As I was typing up the recipe for Sauerbraten, I added a comment that I particularly enjoy it with some egg noodles or German spaetzle.  I realized then that I must share with you my favourite recipe for Spaetzle.  It is quite easy but so yummy!  Thanks to my university roommate Susanne (nee Reitter) for this recipe!

Spaetzle

Ingredients:

4 eggs

1 tablespoon pepper

1/2 cup water, cold

2 1/2 cups flour

1 tablespoon water, cold

Instructions:

Beat the eggs.  Stir in pepper.  Add the 1/2 cup of water and then the flour.  Beat until smooth.  Add the tablespoon of water and stir in until fully absorbed into mixture and smooth again.  Fill your spaetzle maker* 3/4 full.  Press dough into boiling water.  They cook very quickly and will float to the top when ready.  Drain and serve. 

* If you don’t have a spaetzle maker, a potato ricer will work.  I have also heard of people simply using a colander and pushing the dough through with a wooden spoon and having great luck with it.  Personally, I found it a bit complicated to get the hang of how to push it through at the right rate so as not to make it all goopy and mushy.

One response »

  1. I’ve learned something new. I have never associated spaetzl with the 4th. I’ll have to give this a try!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

